National Human Rights Commission PRP&P Division (Research Unit-II)

Date: 07/11/2022

Subject : Re-constitution of the NHRC Core Group on Human Rights Defenders and NGOs

The National Human Rights Commission has reconstituted the Core Group on Human Rights Defenders and NGOs, which will now consist of the following members:

i. Dr. Mandakini Amte

Lok Biradari Prakalp (LBP)

ii. Ms. Enakshi Ganguly

Executive Director, Housing and Land Rights Network

iii. Ms. Bhaswati Mukherjee

Former Ambassador

iv. Ms. Sunitha Krishnan

Founder, Prajwala

v. Dr. Jitendra Singh Shunty

President, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Sewa Dal

vi. Mr. Suhas Chakma

Director, Rights and Risks Analysis Group (RRAG)

vii. Mr. Sandeep Chachra

Executive Director, Action Aid Association

viii. Shri Ramchandra Kharadi

National President, Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram

ix. Shri Satinath Sarangi

Consultant, Sambhavna Trust

x. Ms. Naseema Khatoon

Founder, Parcham

xi. Ms. Pushpa Girimaji

Consumer Rights Activist and senior journalist

xii. Ms. Aparajita Singh

Senior Advocate, Supreme Court

xiii. Mr. Shah Aamir

Advocate, Former Addt'l Advocate General - High Court of J&K and Ladakh

2. The Terms of Reference for the Core Group are as follows:-

- i. To identify areas of cooperation between the NHRC and HRDs/NGOs and to propose methods and approaches to work in these areas
- ii. To jointly take up important and emerging human rights issues after taking into account the suggestion and proposals received from the NGOs and HRDs
- iii. To devise mechanism for continuous and meaningful interaction of the Commission with the civil society
- iv. To work in collaboration for upholding, promoting and protecting the human rights of all sections of society
- v. To consult and interact on a regular basis for favourable outcomes on issues concerning human rights
- vi. To review the outreach of the benefits of policies and welfare schemes and help in issuing advisories to fill policy gaps
- vii. To consider and deliberate on any other issue relevant to the discourse of the Core Group
 - 3. The Core Group meeting would also be attended by special invitees (up to 5) depending on the specific agenda to be discussed, with approval of the Chairperson, NHRC.
 - 4. The Core Group will meet at regular intervals or as and when deemed necessary by the Commission. The participating Members of the Core Group will be entitled for an honorarium @ Rs. 2000/- (two thousand only) and local transportation @ Rs. 1000/- (one thousand only). The Members residing outside Delhi will also be entitled for reimbursement of economy class air fare for the to and fro journey undertaken by them to attend the Core Group meetings.
 - 5. This issues with the approval of the competent authority.

(Anita Sinha)
Joint Secretary

i. Dr. Mandakini Amte

Lok Biradari Prakalp (LBP), Hemalkasa Tehsil & Post, Bhamragad,

Gadchiroli – 442710, Maharashtra

Email – amteprakash@gmail.com

ii. Ms. Enakshi Ganguly

Executive Director, Housing and Land Rights Network,

X-54, 2nd Floor, Green Park Main, New Delhi – 110016

Email - enakshi.ganguly@gmail.com

iii. Ms. Bhaswati Mukherjee

Former Ambassador

C-135, Sarvodaya Enclave, New Delhi - 110017

Email - rustytota@gmail.com

iv. Ms. Sunitha Krishnan

Founder, Prajwala, Survey No. 64/2, 65/3, Basavaguda Road, Mankhal (VIII & P.O.)

Maheshwaram (Mandal) Ranga Reddy - 501359, Telangana

Email - Sunitha 2002@yahoo.com

v. Dr. Jitendra Singh Shunty

President, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Sewa Dal, No. 85, Pratab Khand,

Vishvakarma Nagar, Jhilmil Colony, Delhi - 110095

Email – jsshunty@gmail.com

vi. Mr. Suhas Chakma

Director, Rights and Risks Analysis Group (RRAG),

Flat No. 876, Sector 19, Dwarka, New Delhi – 110075

Email – suhaschakma@rightsrisks.org

vii. Mr. Sandeep Chachra

Executive Director, Action Aid Association,

F-5, First Floor, Kailash Colony, New Delhi – 110048

Email – sandeep.chachra@actionaid.org

viii. Shri Ramchandra Kharadi

National President, Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram, Pashchim Prant Karyalaya,

15 Krushi Nagar, College Road, Nasik – 422005 Maharashtra

Email - rckharadi1955@gmail.com

ix. Shri Satinath Sarangi

Consultant, Sambhavna Trust,

Bafna Colony, Berasia Road, Bhopal – 462001, Madhya Pradesh Email – sambhavnabhopal@gmail.com

x. Ms. Naseema Khatoon

Founder, Parcham, Johra gali, ward no. 40, Shukla road, near Hafiji chowk, Muzzaffarpur, 842001, Bihar Email – naseema80@gmail.com

xi. Ms. Pushpa Girimaji

Consumer Rights Activist and senior journalist
House no. 170, National Media Centre,
Shanker Chowk, Nathupur, Gurugram – 122002, Haryana
Email – pgirimaji@gmail.com

xii. Ms. Aparajita Singh

Senior Advocate, Supreme Court, 16A, Super Deluxe Flats, Sector 15-A, Noida – 201301, Uttar Pradesh Email – ajsemail@gmail.com

xiii. Mr. Shah Aamir

Advocate, Former Addt'l Advocate General - High Court of J&K and Ladakh, R/O Shah Site, Rajbagh Extensions,

Near SBI Rajbagh, Srinagar–190008 Jammu & Kashmir

Email – shahaamir247@gmail.com

Copy to -

- i. PPS to Hon'ble Chairperson
- ii. PPS to HM (JMMK)
- iii. PPS to HM (DMM)
- iv. PS to HM(RJ)
- v. PS to SG
- vi. PS to DG(I)
- vii. Sr. PPS to Registrar (Law)
- viii. PA to JS (HCC)
- ix. DS/DD (M&C)/JD (R)
- x. US (C)/US (Estt.), SSA, Sr. A.O., A.D.(P), A.D.(OL)