<u>R-18/11/2020-PRPP(RU-1)</u>

National Human Rights Commission PRP&P Division Research Unit: 1

Date: 1st November, 2023

ORDER

Subject: Constitution of the Core Group on Right to Food and Nutrition

The National Human Rights Commission has Re-constituted the Core Group on Right to Food and Nutrition consisting of the following members.

- 1. Dr. Dipa Sinha, Assistant Professor, School of Liberal Studies, Ambedkar University, Delhi.
- 2. **Dr. Mamoni Das,** Dean, Faculty of Community Science, Assam Agricultural University , Jorhat, Assam.
- 3. Dr. Shweta Khandelwal, Head, Nutrition Research at the Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI), Delhi.
- 4. Ms Vandana Singh, CEO, Food Security Foundation India, India Food Banking Network.
- 5. Shri Siraj Hussain, Independent Consultant, FICCI.
- Dr. Richa Kumar, Associate Professor of Sociology and Science and Technology, Studies, Department of Humanities and Social Science Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi.
- 7. Dr. R. Gopinath, Principle Scientist, M S Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai
- 8. **Dr. Vandana Prasad,** Community Pediatrician and Public Health Expert, Community Processes-Comprehensive Primary Health Care, National Health Systems Resource Centre, Delhi.
- Dr. Alok Kumar Srivastava, (Chairman, BIS FAD 28), Former Chief Scientist & Head, CSIR-Central Food Technological Research Institute (CFTRI), Mysuru, Former Director, Referral Food Laboratory (RFL under FSSA), Mysuru.
- 10. Dr. Sridevi Annapurna Singh, Director, CSIR-Central Food technological Research Institute, Mysuru
- 11. Shri N.Venkateswaran, Chief Executive Officer, National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration Laboratories, Gurugram

- 12. **Dr. Monalisha Sahu, M.B.B.S., M.D.** Associate Professor and Head, Department of Occupational Health, & Associate Professor Department of PSM All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India.
- 13. Ms. Reshmi Dasgupta, Columnist, The Economic Times

Ex- Officio Members:

- i. Representative of the Department of Food and Public Distribution, Ministry of Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi
- ii. Representative of the Ministry of Women and Child Development, (ICDS), Government of India, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi-1
- iii. Representative from Department of School Education and Literacy, (Mid-Day Meal), Ministry of Human Resource and Development, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi
- iv. Director, ICMR- National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad
- v. Representative of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)
- 2. The Core Group will also include special invitees (up to 5) with approval of the Chair depending upon the specific agenda to be discussed in the Core Group meeting.

3. The Terms of Reference for the Core Group on Right to Food and Nutrition are as under:

- i. To advise the Commission on issues relating to the right to food and nutrition. These issues may include the reference made by the Commission to the Core Group, and any other issue, which the members of the Core Group would consider appropriate to suggest to the Commission in light of the relevant provisions of the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993.
- To review the existing government policies, laws, rules, orders, etc., relating to the Right to Food from the perspective of human rights and make suggestions/recommendations for change or for their better implementation.
- iii. To identify best practices, policies and programs nationally and internationally adopted to protect the rights to food and nutrition.

- 4. The Core Group will meet periodically at regular intervals as and when deemed necessary.
- 5. The participating members of the Core Group shall be entitled to an honorarium of Rs. 2,000/- (Rupees Two Thousand Only) and local transportation at flat rate of Rs. 1,000/- (Rupees One Thousand Only). The members outside Delhi shall also be entitled for reimbursement of the economy class air fare for the to-&-fro journey undertaken by them to attend the Core Group meetings.

This issues with approval of the competent authority.

Devendra Kumar Nim) Joint Secretary

r