NHRC Chairperson Justice H.L. Dattu presents Commission’s short film awards on Human Rights Day; announces to double the prize money from the next year (10.12.2019)

New Delhi, 10th December, 2019

Mr. Justice H. L. Dattu, Chairperson , NHRC, India presented awards to the winners of the Commission’s 2019- short film competition on human rights at a function on Human Rights Day today on the 10th December, 2019. They included Mr. Vishal Kumbhar for his film ‘Kumbhil Shiva”, Mr. Ernest Rosario PB for his film “Transcender”and Mr. Vijeendra Syam for his film “Gulp”. The winners were given Rs one lakh, 75 thousand and 50 thousand as the first, second and the third prize respectively along with certificates and trophies.

The film ‘Kumbhil Shiva” by Mr. Vishal Kumbhar depicts the plight of a child rape victim and her family in getting justice. The film “Transcender” by Mr. Ernest Rosario P.B. highlights the struggles of a transcender to seek recognition in mainstream of society by chasing her dream to become a police officer. The silent film ‘Gulp’ by Mr. Vijeendra Syam focuses on the onslaught of development resulting in loss of natural habitat through the story of an old man.

Congratulating the winners, Justice Dattu said that the Commission appreciates the efforts put in by the short film makers behind their films sent for the NHRC short film competition. He said that the Commission has decided to double the prize money from the next year from rupees one lakh to two lakh, 75 thousand to 1.5 lakh and rupees 50 thousand to one lakh. He said that the objective of the scheme was to involve people, particularly the young generation, to ponder over various aspects of human rights and express their views through visual media. It was hoped that such efforts would help in encouraging people to stand up for each others’ rights, thereby, creating an environment of rights consciousness. He called upon the film makers to make thoughtful films on human rights violations and if possible also suggest, through their creativity, how to deal with them.

Justice Dattu also congratulated the Chair of the Jury, Dr. D.M. Mulay, Member, NHRC and his team for short listing 12 films out of more than 80 films after a day long exercise and thus, helping the Full Commission to select the three best films out of them and the four for Special Mention.

Besides, the three award winning films, Certificates of Special Mention were also given to the four films, including ‘To Let’ by Mr. K. Jeyanchandra Hashmi highlights how sometimes, our peculiar preferences may result in an act of discrimination, ‘A Dying Wish’ by Ms. Shubhra Dixit underscoring the struggles of an old couple seeking permission for voluntary death, and “Nima’ by Mr. Yangchen Thapa depicting how sometimes actions of elders, howsoever routine they may be, could result in creating a very negative impact on the child psyche and ‘Do Spit Here’ by Mr. R. Ravi Prasath, a comic and satirical take on those who deliberately spoil and soil public or others’ private spaces.

Earlier, giving an introduction to the NHRC’s short film award scheme, Mr. Jaideep Govind, Secretary General of the Commission said that this is the fifth consecutive award and with the increasing number of entries in this competition, the Commission is hopeful that in coming years more film makers will participate. He also thanked the two outside experts and awarded film makers, Mr. Arun Chadha and Ms. Reena Mohan for sparing their time as part of the Jury for the selection of the films.

NHRC Members, Mr. Justice P.C.Pant, Mrs. Jyotika Kalra, Dr. D.M. Mulay Director General (Investigation), Mr. Prabhat Singh and other senior officers and staff and the friends and relatives of the award winners were present.